Colorado Open Records Request

To request public records under the Colorado Open Records Act (CORA) or Criminal Justice Records Act, please submit your request in writing to the appropriate CDPS Division records point of contact:

Colorado State Patrol records: Submit your request through the Colorado State Patrol online portal

CBI records: e-mail your request to natalie.olson@state.co.us 

Division of Criminal Justice records: Submit your request using the DCJ CORA form.

DHSEM recordsSubmit your request using the DHSEM CORA form.

Division of Fire Prevention and Control: e-mail your request to caley.pruitt@state.co.us

Colorado Department of Public Safety Executive Director's Office: e-mail your request to cdps_info@state.co.us

CDPS will charge a maximum of $0.25 per page for copies of records. The maximum hourly rate for research and retrieval of public records is $30 for CDPS agencies, per provisions of the Colorado Open Records Act (CORA) (as amended by the General Assembly in 2014 and made effective April 3, 2015). Also, per provisions of CORA, the first hour of time associated with research and retrieval of public records among CDPS agencies will be provided at no cost. For questions about CDPS CORA policies, please contact the office of the Executive Director.

View the CDPS Colorado Open Records Act Policy.